For the third time in the last four years, Owatonna and Rochester Century will meet in the first round of the Section 1AA boys hockey playoffs. The quarterfinal game is Thursday, February 20 at Graham Arena, home of the Big Nine champ and fourth seed Panthers. OHS is the fifth seed and finished second in the conference standings.

While Owatonna has gone 0-8 versus Century in their regular season games over the last four seasons, the Huskies upset the Panthers in 2017 playoffs 2-1 and in last year's match up 3-2 in double overtime. The teams have played five consecutive one-goal games. Thursday's battle will be heard on AM 1390 KRFO and the free KRFO app.

OHS dropped a 6-5 decision to Century at Four Seasons in Owatonna in early January. The Panthers held off Owatonna 2-1 earlier this month in a game where Owatonna heavily outshot Century.

The Huskies tied a school record with 19 wins during the regular season, going 19-6. Three of their losses were by one goal. Century compiled a 19-4-2 mark while winning their third straight Big Nine title.

The winner of Thursday's quarterfinal will advance to the Rec Center in Rochester Saturday, February 22 for a 5:30 pm semifinal.

Section seedings seemed to simply fall into place. Lakeville South is the top seed. The defending section champs split their regular season games with Lakeville North, who landed the second seed. Hastings is the third seed. The Raiders beat Owatonna 5-2 Saturday and crushed Century this season as well. Farmington got the sixth seed due to strength of schedule over Northfield who had a much better overall record, but ended up as the seventh seed. Rochester Mayo is eight and JM nine. Those two meet Tuesday, February 18 with the winner going to Lakeville South Thursday.

South has won two of the last three section titles. North has won four championships since 2013. Century is the last Big Nine team to win 1AA, taking the title in 2009. Seven of the last ten championship games have been an all-Lakeville affair.

Schedule, boys hockey, Section 1AA (see the bracket)
Tuesday, February 18
No. 9 John Marshall at No. 8 Mayo
Thursday, February 20
JM/Mayo winner at No. 1 Lakeville South
No. 5 Owatonna at No. 4 Century
No. 6 Farmington at No. 3 Hastings
No. 7 Northfield at No. 2 Lakeville North
Semifinals, Saturday, February 22, Rec Center, 5:30 pm and 8:00 pm
Final, Thursday, February 27, 7 pm


More From KRFO-AM