Forced to forgo the annual Blue Line Club boys hockey banquet, Huskies coach Josh Storm sent families a Power Point presentation with highlights and award winners. Going 19-7 over the 2019-2020 season, Owatonna recorded their second-most wins ever and finished second in the Big Nine Conference.

Storm was especially proud of "Bringing the Four Seasons' crowds back to the glory days and creating a buzz around OHS boys hockey that has not been seen in years." He also was pleased with how players connected with youth hockey teams, the success of Stick it to Cancer night, and a runner-up finish at the Heritage Tournament in Duluth.

The Huskies were among the state leaders in goals against average at 1.80 (7th best in the state) and penalty kill at 92.4-percent (3rd best).

Owatonna senior Collin Pederson was named the Lee Harra Most Valuable Senior and the Hobey Baker Character Award winner. Harra played for an Owatonna midget team in the finals of two state tournaments. Harra was killed in action in Vietnam in 1969.

Huskies senior Austin Mundt earned the Ken Wilcox Award for his work with the Owatonna Youth Hockey Association. Senior Zach Wiese landed the Ken Austin Award for his leadership, dedication, teamwork, hustle and enthusiasm.

Sophomore Devon Rousch was named the Dudley Otto Most Improved player. The award, presented by the coaches, is named after Owatonna High School's first head coach.

Wiese and Pederson, and junior Dominic Valento and Zach Kubicek were named Big Nine All-Conference. Juniors Wyatt Oldefendt and Casey Johnson, plus sophomore Taylor Bogen landed Honorable Mention recognition.

Pederson and Wiese were the Huskies captains for this past season. Kubicek was announced as the captain for 2020-2021. Storm indicated additional captains could be added as well.

Storm said thanks to the "Blue Line Club, players and their families (captains parents), managers, cheerleaders, coaches, coaches spouses and children, my family."

Letter winners for the Huskies

  • Austin Mundt
    two-year letter winner
    assist in section playoff game at Century
    two-point game vs Irondale at Heritage Tournament and game vs JM
  • Collin Pederson
    three-year letter winner
    29 points in senior season on 14 goals and 15 assists
    game-winning overtime goal vs Northfield
    hat trick vs Chanhassen
    three-point game against Albert Lea
    Great Eight selection
  • Zach Wiese
    17-6 record in senior season, 1.42 GAA, .913 save percentage
    career record of 31-20-3
    three-year letter winner
    two-time All-Conference
    beat Farmington, giving up one goal
    finished eighth in MN to goals-against-average
    Great Eight selection


  • Aaron Bangs
  • True Gieseke
  • Brody Homan
  • Casey Johnson
  • Zach Kirsh
  • Zach Kubicek
  • Wyatt Oldefendt
  • Sam Sampson
  • Dominic Valento


  • Grant Achterkirch
  • Taylor Bogen
  • Joey Dub
  • Ashton Hoffman
  • Sam Knoll
  • Levi Kubicek
  • Preston Meier
  • Casey Pederson
  • Devon Rousch
  • Jack Sande
  • Tanner Stendel

The Blue Line Club banquet was scheduled for April 5 at the Owatonna Country Club.


MORE TO EXPLORE: Breathtaking Views of Minnesota


More From KRFO-AM