I find it difficult to decide the neatest part of Sunday's Owatonna High School football banquet. A long snapper won a big award. Twelve players shared the Offensive 'Player' of the Year Award. The team's two-time leader in defensive points won the MVP honor. The coach was recognized for his career victories total. A great video highlighted a section championship season.

Isaac Gefre was voted by his teammates as the Most Valuable Player. Coach Jeff Williams said he was "one of the most prolific linebackers Owatonna has ever had," and was the "heart and soul of our defense." Gefre led the team in defensive points in his junior and senior season. He also won the Defensive Player of the Year award and was named the Big Southeast, Red Division, Defensive Player of the Year.

Ethan Rohman, who just announcing a commitment to play Division I football at Drake University in Iowa, won the Special Teams Player of the Year award as the team's long snapper. Jaden Dallenbach earned the Champion of the Year Award.

Zach Wiese earned the Lineman of the Year award as a third-year All-District player. Williams called him the "leader of the offense vocally and with his shoulder pads." Wiese played guard on state championship teams as a sophomore and junior and shifted to center as a senior without missing a beat. He was also named the Big Southeast, Red Division, Lineman of the Year. Wiese played in the high school football showcase game at US Bank Stadium earlier this month.

The entire starting offense, 12 players in all, were named the Offensive Players of the Year. They are Wiese, Rohman, Luke Effertz, Nate Smith, Ethan Walter, Matt Williams, Carter DeBus, Carson DeKam, Isaac Oppegard, Payton Beyer, Liam Dublin, and Brayden Truelson. DeKam was also honored as a Minnesota Vikings' Community Captain Award winner this season.

Owatonna had a team GPA of 3.21 to earn the Silver Team Award. Big Southeast Scholar Athletes included DeKam, Dublin, Effertz, Logan Gauthier, Gefre, Sol Havelka, Hunter Menden, Isaiah Noeldner, Oppegard, Rohman, Alex Vereide, and Walter.

Captains for 2020 are Truelson, Beyer, Zach Stransky, and Matt Seykora. The captains this past season were Noeldner, Wiese, Gefre, and DeKam.

OHS Activities Director and Defensive Coordinator Marc Achterkirch took time to recognized Williams for passing Jerry Peterson's victory total (179 at OHS) and becoming Owatonna's all-time winningest coach.

Gary Walter put together a fantastic highlight video of the Huskies' section championship season. I am proud to have our KRFO call of the action as part of the video presentation. One of the loudest cheers from the players watching the video was Gauthier's touchdown pass to fellow senior Brandon Skala.

Review Owatonna's full roster from the Minnesota State High School League. Williams thanked team managers Jenna Gasner, Leone Jacobson, Wilo Omot, and Sophie Garza for their hard work. The Huskies went 10-1 for the season, winning their fourth straight section title. The four-year run has included two state titles (2017 & 2018) and a semifinal appearance in 2016.

OHS Football Banquet


More From KRFO-AM