Owatonna is the fifth seed for the Section 1AA boys hockey playoffs and will open the postseason at Rochester Century on Thursday, February 23, at 7PM on KRFO AM 1390.

OHS is hoping the adage that it is tough to beat a team three times proves true, as the Panthers swept the Huskies this season, costing Owatonna the chance at a home playoff game. Century built a big lead against Owatonna on January 19 and withstood a late, furious comeback to hold on for a 5-4 win. Century won 4-1 at Four Seasons Centre on February 11.

Owatonna was plagued by penalties in the two games. Two majors were called on the Huskies in the first game. OHS had 35 minutes of penalties in the rematch and Century converted 3-of-5 power play chances. Special teams has been a strong point for both teams. Owatonna is at 22 percent on the power play and 86 percent on penalty kill. Century is even better. The Panthers are 29 percent on the power play and 89 percent at killing penalties.

The Huskies' leading scorer is Tyler Wencl, who has 16 goals and 15 assists for 31 points. Carter Broton has a team-leading 18 goals plus a dozen assists. Adam Rehman (7G, 14A, 21 points), Mitchell Mayer (6G, 13A, 19 points) and Mitch Wiese (4G, 15A, 19 points) round out the top five. Jacob Dub is 9-9 in goal with a save percentage of nearly 89 percent and two shutouts.

Century's top scorer is defenseman Will Zmolek with 20 goals and 21 assists for 41 points. Eric St. Marie (8G, 24A) and Nick Aney (13G, 19A) each have 32 points. Century has two goalies with a winning record. Cole Walter is 9-8-1 with four shutouts. Jackson Kilinger is 5-2 with a goals-against average of less than two.

The winner of Thursday's quarterfinal at the Rec Center will be back in the same building Saturday at 11:30AM against the winner of the Dodge County at Lakeville North game. Farmington is the defending section champion. Owatonna's last quarterfinal win was in 2014 when they beat Rochester Mayo 3-2 in overtime.

Boys hockey
Section 1AA quarterfinals
Thursday, February 23
No. 5 Owatonna at No. 4 Rochester Century
No. 8 Dodge County at No. 1 Lakeville North
No. 6 Rochester JM at No. 3 Farmington
No. 7 Rochester Mayo at No. 2 Lakeville South

Section 1A first round
Tuesday, February 21
No. 9 Le Sueur-Henderson/St. Peter/TCU/Cleveland at No. 8 Austin
No. 12 Winona at No. 5 Mankato East
No. 11 Faribault at No. 6 Albert Lea
No. 10 La Crescent at No. 7 Waseca
Northfield, Lourdes, Red Wing and Mankato West have first-round byes.

More From KRFO-AM