The 1960 Edgerton boys' basketball team, which is the smallest school to win the Minnesota state championship during the single-class era, is among the honorees into the first Minnesota Basketball Hall of Fame class. Players from that team were among those recognized at Monday's Minnesota Timberwolves' game and just a couple of days after four schools won state high school championships at Target Center.

The Grand Meadow girls' basketball teams of 1929-1939 enter the hall thanks to a 94-game winning streak. Inductees include Randy Breuer of Lake City who is one of just three players to win a high school title and a Big Ten title with the Gophers. Hibbing's Kevin McHale set a record by making 27-of-34 shots in the 1976 state tournament.

Khalid El-Amin led the Minneapolis North Polars to three straight titles. Ron Johnson of New Prague was Minnesota's first 2,000-point scorer. Jim McIntyre broke several state tournament scoring records in the 1940's. Mark Olberding from Melrose held the state tournament scoring record for a number of years after leading the Dutchmen to a title in 1974.

Janet Karvonen-Montgomery of New York Mills drew attention to the girls' game in the late 1970's and scored over 3,000 points in her career. Lindsay Whalen, from Hutchinson, has succeeded at the high school, college, pro and Olympic level.

Dorothy McIntyre is a member of the first hall of fame class thanks to her advocacy for girls sports through her role with the Minnesota State High School League. Faith Johnson Patterson coached Minneapolis North and DeLaSalle to eight state titles.

Chisholm coach Bob McDonald has over 1,000 career victories, the most of any coach in state history. Rochester Lourdes coach Myron Glass has more than 700 career wins.

A reception was held for hall of fame members before Monday's Timberwolves' game. The hall is a partnership with the Timberwolves and Lynx and will feature a permanent display at Target Center.


More From KRFO-AM