Owatonna High School graduates George Soukup and Marc Wiese each lettered in three sports for the Indians. Both went on to coach football for many years. Soukup, a 1956 OHS grad, coached 41 years at Minnetonka. Wiese, a 1991 graduate, has been an OHS coach since 1998. Both are part of the 2018 class into the OHS Athletic Hall of Fame. A reception and induction ceremony are Friday, September 14.

Soukup also lettered in basketball and baseball at OHS. He played on four conference championship football teams on the offensive and defensive lines. He was a four-year letter winner at Minnesota State Mankato and was inducted into their hall of fame in 1995. He was named a Butch Nash Award winner as an outstanding Minnesota high school football coach. Soukup passed away in 2008.

Wiese also lettered in hockey and baseball. He was All-State in football his senior year and was a two-time All-Conference pick. Wiese was a captain his senior year and was named to the All-Millennium Team in 2000.

Joining Soukup and Wiese in the current hall of fame class are Beth Christensen (class of 2008; tennis, basketball, track), Andrea Jurgens (class os 1996; volleyball, basketball, softball) and Sean Murphy (class of 2005; soccer, hockey, tennis).

The OHS Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1995 and has 120 members with the newest five inductees.


More From KRFO-AM