1996 Owatonna High School graduate Andrea Jurgens earned ten letters in three sports, was on a third place state tournament volleyball team and played two sports in college. Jurgens is a member of the incoming athletic hall of fame class with official induction on Friday, September 14.

Jurgens lettered in volleyball all four years at OHS, helping lead the team to a third place finish at the state tournament in 1995. She lettered three times each in basketball and softball. Jurgens was All-Conference twice in volleyball and softball and captained the basketball and volleyball teams.

Jurgens was a National Honor Society member and went on to play volleyball and basketball at Hamline University.

She joins Beth Christensen (tennis, basketball, track), Sean Murphy (soccer, hockey, tennis), George Soukup (football, basketball, baseball) and Marc Wiese (football, hockey, baseball) in the OHS Athletic Hall of Fame class. The public is invited to a reception at 3 pm in the high school commons. The inductees will have the chance to share their reaction to the honor at this time.

The five will also be introduced at the football game Friday night against Austin. The hall of fame was established in 1995 and will grow to 120 members with the current group.



More From KRFO-AM