Education Minnesota has announced the 2017 Minnesota Teacher of the Year field of 132 candidates.

The candidates have accepted their nominations and completed the necessary paperwork to become eligible for the honor.

The 53rd Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 7, at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington.

Candidates are from pre-kindergarten through 12th grade and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public and private schools.

Education Minnesota says over the next several weeks a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists.

I won't list all 132 candidates here, but will highlight some from the KDHL/Power 96 listening area and the Big Nine or Hiawatha Valley League conferences.

They are listed alphabetically by community:

  • Margo Wayne, Albert Lea
  • Stephanie Hallman, Alden-Conger
  • Marsha Wilson, Austin
  • John Glas, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage
  • Marie Hanson, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage
  • David Taylor, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage
  • Heidi Barlage, Farmington
  • Claudia Roesler, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton
  • Liz Harwood, Kasson-Mantorville
  • Heidi Haugen, Kenyon-Wanamingo
  • Laura McAnally, Kenyon-Wanamingo
  • Kelly Hillier, Lakeville
  • Mary Zilge, Lakeville
  • Stephanie Laabs, Le Sueur-Henderson
  • Toni Hames, Mankato
  • Sarah Swan McDonald, Northfield
  • Scott Noet, Owatonna
  • Debra Sauke, Plainview-Elgin-Millville
  • Neil Lahammer, Red Wing
  • Sheena Tisland, Red Wing
  • Janice Frerks, Rochester
  • Brian Fendrich, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan
  • Nicholas Johnson, Stewartville
  • David Oraskovich, Waseca
  • James Autio, West St. Paul/Mendota Heights/Eagan
  • Linda Pfeilsticker, Winona
KMHS Addition
Gordy Kosfeld / Townsquare Media

More From KRFO-AM