The state of Minnesota has the majority of the A-Z in cities, however, the letter X and Y had to be a little creative.

Alden --  in Freeborn County -- The township railroad is part of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul system in 1870. It was incorporated in 1879 and reincorporated in 1908. They are with the Alden-Conger Knights School District. A total of 20 cities begin with "A."

Alden, Minnesota
Alden, Minnesota is in Freeborn County with around 650 residents. Picture from website










Blooming Prairie -- in Steele County -- "A Great Place to Spend the next 100 years." School mascot is the Blooming Prairie Awesome Blossom. A total of 41 cities start with "B."

city mural
A Welcome to Blooming Prairie Mural. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media

Claremont -- in Dodge County -- "City on the Right Track." The school mascot is part of the Triton Cobras. A total of 39 cities start with "C."

city motto
City of Claremont motto. City website.









Dodge Center -- in Dodge County -- "Stepping Toward the Future." Also with the Triton Cobras. A total of 14 cities start with "D."

Veteran Memorial
The Dodge Center Veterans Memorial. John Heerma/Owatonna Granite and Monument


Ellendale -- in Steele County -- Established in 1901 when the railroad system wanted a settlement between Albert Lea and Owatonna. The town was named after Ellen Dale Ives, the railroad president's wife. The school is part of the NRHEG (New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) Panthers. A total of 20 cities begin with "E."

Veteran Memorial
Ellendale Veteran Memorial. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media

Faribault -- in Rice County -- Home of the Tilt-A-Whirl since 1926 and Faribault Woolen Mill Co. since 1865. The school mascot: Faribault Falcons. A total of 18 cities begin with "F."

Veterans Memorial in front of Court House
Rice County Veterans Memorial located in front of the Court House in Faribault. Lisa Marie/ Townsquare Media

Geneva -- in Freeborn County -- The settlement was established in 1858 and incorporated in 1889. The first postmaster and probate judge, Edwin Stacy, named the Geneva after a city in New York. Also part of the NRHEG Panthers. A total of 16 cities begin with "G."

Geneva city sign
The city sign of Geneva. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media.

Hayfield -- Dodge County -- "Close enough to Rochester, but just far enough away." The school mascot is the Hayfield Vikings. Thirty cities begin with "H."

Hayfield Firefighter Memorial
Firefighter Memorial in Hayfield. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media

Ideal --  in Crow Wing County -- Established in 1899 and officially a township in 1902. A total of six cities start with "I."

Town Hall in Ideal Township
Ideal Town Hall and Memorial.








Janesville --  in Waseca County -- "Where friends are like family ... For a day, for a lifetime." The school mascot:  Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton Bulldogs. A total of five cities begin with "J."

City Hall in Janesville
Janesville City Hall from the city website,

Kasson -- in Dodge County -- Incorporated in 1870 and named after Irishman Jabez Hyde Kasson, and now part of Tree City USA. The school mascot: Kasson-Mantorville Komets. A total of nine cities begin with "K."

Kasson, Minnesota
A ballpark is part of the Park and Rec Department in Kasson. Picture from the city's website.










Lyle -- in Mower County -- Established in 1870 and will be celebrate its sesquicentennial in 2020. Their school mascot: Lyle Lions. A total of 32 cities start with "L."

Lyle, MN
A scene of Lyle from the cities website.

Medford -- in Steele County --  "A place to call home since 1853." The school mascot is Medford Tigers. A total of 42 cities begin with "M."

Mural in Medford High School
Medford High School Tiger Mural. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media

New Richland -- in Waseca County -- "History is ours, future is yours." A part of the NRHEG Panthers. A total of 19 cities begin with "N."

High School Mural
Panther Mural in NRHEG High School located in New Richland

Owatonna -- in Steele County -- "Where progress and history entwines." The school mascot is the Owatonna Huskies. Home of the Steele County Free Fair, the biggest county fair in Minnesota. A total of 12 cities begin with "O."

Mural of Owatonna's History
History Mural in Owatonna on side of business. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media

Preston -- in Fillmore County -- "Get Hooked on Preston." Known as Minnesota's Trout Capital. The school mascot is Filmore Central Falcons. A total of 16 cities start with "P."

Preston, Minnesota
A view of Preston, Trout capital of Minnesota from the city's website.

Quamba -- in Kanabec County -- Name means "mudhole" in Indian. According to the 2010 census, 123 residents live in Quamba. There are a total of zero listed cities starting with "Q."

Township of Quamba sign
Township of Quamba for Lakenwoods website








Red Wing -- in Goodhue County -- School mascot is the Red Wing Wingers. A total of 22 cities begin with "R."

Red Wing Mural
A mural in Red Wing as you cross into the state. Lisa Marie/Townsquare Media.

Stewartville -- in Olmsted County -- "The Future is Bright." School mascot is the Stewartville Tigers. A total of 46 cities begin with "S."

Veteran Memorial in Stewartville
Stewartville, Minnesota, is in Olmsted County. This is an All Veterans Memorial, according to the city's website.











Tracy -- in Lyon County -- "Come Along for the Ride." Established in 1893. The school mascot is Tracy Panthers. A total of 10 cities begin with "T."

City of Tracy
Pictures for the City of Tracy website.

Upsala -- in Morrison County --"The City Where Life is Always Looking Up." First known as Swedback Settlement, but Postmaster John Anderson changed it to Upsala, a city in Sweden. The school mascot is Upsala Cardinals. A total of two cities begin with "U."

Picture of a parade in Upsala from the city's website.







Virginia -- in St. Louis County -- First known as "The Queen City on the Iron Range" but shortened to "The Queen City." Established in 1892 as a mining town and named after a mining leader's wife, Virginia Humphreys. The school mascot is Virginia Blue Devils. A total of three cities start with "V."

Virginia, Minnesota
Historic Kaleva Hall in the city of Virginia from the city's website.









West Concord -- in Dodge County -- "A Proud Heritage, A Bright Future." Part of the Triton Cobras school district. A total of 17 cities begin with "W."

West Concord, Minnesota
The West Concord Historical Society from the city's website









X -- Well, in Minnesota only five cities contain "X" in the name, and none start with "X": Alexandria, Baxter, Climax, Excelcior and Fairfax. Alexandria -- Douglas County -- "Easy to Get to, Hard to Leave." The school mascot is the Alexandria Cardinal.

Alexandria, Minnesota
City of Alexandria, Minnesota. It contains an "x." Viking picture from the city's website.












Young America Township -- Carver County -- is actually part of Norwood Young America. A total of zero cities listed begin with "Y."

Norwood Young America, Minnesota
City of Norwood-Young America is in Carver County. Picture from the city's website







Zumbrota -- in Goodhue County -- "Bridging the Past and The Future." They are the home to the only remaining functioning covered bridge. The school mascot is Zumbrota-Mazeppa Cougars. A total of two cities are listed beginning with "Z."

Zumbrota, Minnesota
The city of Zumbrota has a Covered Bridge Park, and has the only functioning covered bridge in the state. Picture from the city's website.



More From KRFO-AM