Each year the Steele County Historical Society recognizes two buildings or properties for outstanding preservation and or restoration efforts. Past honorees include Kottke Jewelers Lerberg's Store, Owatonna Public Utilities and more.

Nominations need to be received at the Steele County Historical Society office by May 3. To make a nomination, submit a letter explaining why you have chosen this particular piece of property along with some background information, the historic significance of the property along with a photo and a contact number. Honorees will be announced in May during National Preservation Month.

To be considered for the award, the property should accurately reflect the architecture of the time it was built, be as close in its original detail as possible and be in above average condition.

On a side note, the Steele County Historical Society was named a recipient of a Minnesota Historical and Cultural Heritage Small Grant of $4,891 for help in organizing the Fire Hall Collection.

OHS spring softball and baseball seasons are upon us. Listen for select games on the radio this season. Download the free KRFO APP and follow along wherever you go.

More From KRFO-AM