Candidates for Minnesota Teacher of the Year were pared down from 132 to 37 semifinalists this morning. Education Minnesota made the announcement for the 53rd annual award. Among those making the cut was Owatonna Junior High social studies teacher Scott Noet. Others from Southern Minnesota making the final 37 were Linda Pfeilsticker, a social studies teacher at the Winona High School; Sarah Swan McDonald, a social studies teacher at Northfield High School; Marsha Wilson, an elementary school teacher in Austin; and Pam Brolsma, an elementary teacher in Fairmont.

Later this month the list will be whittled down from 37 to 10 finalists. The winner will be recognized May 7 at the Radisson Blu Mall of America.

The reigning teacher of the year is Abdul Wright, a language arts teacher at Best Academy in Minneapolis. She will hand over the award in this spring's ceremony.

More From KRFO-AM