Triton football coach Don Henderson, Owatonna cross country coach Dave Chatelaine and former NRHEG wrestling coach Paul Cyr all became hall of fame members in 2016.

Don Henderson is the only head coach the Triton football program has had in its 27 years. The Cobras have gone to state nine times and won three state titles. Henderson entered the Minnesota State Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2016.

Paul Cyr spent almost 30 years with New Richland-Hartland, then NRHEG, as its wrestling coach. He was inducted into the Dave Bartelma Minnesota Wrestling Hall of Fame in April. Cyr's teams won 11 conference titles and went to state four times. 1976 Blooming Prairie graduate Paul Vaith was also a member of the induction class. He is a two-time AAA coach of the year from Hastings.

Longtime Owatonna High School coach Dave Chatelaine entered the cross country coach's hall of fame in 2016. The 21st Owatonna High School Athletic Hall of Fame class included former Indians baseball coach Dale Timm, who was on the staff of both of Owatonna's state title teams. Lifelong sports booster and former KRFO owner and play-by-play announcer Todd Hale entered the hall. Athletes included Tim Braaten, Joe Kiley and Laura Kenow.

Other coaching recognition in 2016 went to Huskies assistant football coach Marc Achterkirch, who was part of the south squad for the high school all-star football game in December at US Bank Stadium. Owatonna Special Olympics coach Scott Clark earned the Outstanding Coach of the Year honor from Minnesota Special Olympics. And longtime NRHEG baseball coach Jeff Reese had the Panthers baseball diamond after him and his wife, Carol.