Faribault Bethlehem Academy rallied from a 2-sets-to-1 deficit and fought off two match points in the fifth game to outlast Hayfield 3-2 Thursday at Mayo Civic Center and add another Section 1A, West Subsection trophy to their collection. A year ago Hayfield topped the Cardinals for the crown.

The fifth set offered several big momentum swings. Bethlehem Academy led 3-1. Hayfield zipped ahead 7-5. FBA ran off four points in a row for a 9-7 lead and pushed it to 11-8 before Hayfield charged to the verge of the title with a 6-1 run for a 14-12 lead. The Cardinals scored the next three four points for the 16-14 win and advancement to the Section 1A title match Saturday at 1PM.

Abby Jandro served the final points for Bethlehem Academy. A triple block of a Vikings' attack accounted for the final point and set off the celebration. Laney Donahue had at least four kills in the final set and about 16 for the night.

Mary Campbell had about 17 kills, two aces and a number of digs. Jandro, Donahue and Campbell shared the Faribault players of the match award, sponsored by Faribault State Farm Insurance agents Tony Langerud and Jason Krohn.

Bethlehem Academy (15-14) won the opening set 25-19. Hayfield (24-6) controlled the next two 25-16 and 25-14. FBA won the fourth set 25-22, scoring the final three points after Hayfield went on a 4-1 run to tie things at 22.

The Cardinals will face off with defending section champ Caledonia in Saturday's final. The 1AA final has Kasson-Mantorville against Plainview-Elgin-Millville. Lakeville North and Northfield meet for the 1AAA title.

In Section 2A, WEM beat St. Clair Thursday 3-1 and faces Mayer-Lutheran Saturday night at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter. The 2AA title features Kenyon-Wanamingo versus Southwest Christian at 8PM. KW beat St. Peter 3-1 Thursday, after dropping the first set.

Bethlehem Academy
Roy Koenig/Townsquare Media

More From KRFO-AM