Huskies coach Josh Storm shared highlights of the 2014-15 season during Sunday's banquet. He talked of the growth and opportunity players had, plus an unbeaten record in seven overtime games.

"...a year of growth and giving lots of people opportunity."

-OHS boys hockey coach Josh Storm

After graduating the bulk of the scoring off the 2013-14 team, and with a more challenging schedule looming, Storm was pleased with the perseverance shown by this year's team. The Huskies ended the season at 11-13-2. They were 5-0-2 in overtime games. Owatonna split with Rochester Mayo and John Marshall and played a much closer game against Rochester Century in the second match-up. An overtime win against Albert Lea at home capped a full day of Owatonna youth teams versus their Albert Lea counterparts. Storm also was very happy about the holiday trip to Duluth and the positive comments he received about the players.

Storm is also very proud that Owatonna won the Section 1AA academic championship with an overall team GPA of 3.89. The Huskies were also close to winning the state honor as well.

"The overtime stuff was fun."

-Coach Storm

Storm spoke about each senior.

  • Jacob Harrison, a hard worker
  • Brady Heaney, good on the penalty kill and scored versus JM and Mayo
  • Peter Jones, nice job balancing hockey development with golf last summer
  • Justin, Stein, good offensive defense man
  • Jari Lindfors, a happy kid
  • Greg Somers, played best in big games and great character

Boys hockey award winners for the 2014-15 season:

  • Lee Harra Award, most valuable senior - Greg Somers
  • Ken Wilcox Award, putting team above self - Greg Somers
  • Hobey Baker Award, character and sportsmanship - Greg Somers
  • Ken Austin Award, leadership and enthusiasm - Greg Somers
  • Dudley Otto Award, most improved player - Kade Friedrichs
  • Patrick Arnfeldt Scholarship - Jacob Harrison

Big Nine all conference:

  • Kade Friedrichs (unanimous selection)
  • Noah Scheid (second straight season)

Big Nine honorable mention:

  • Justin Stein
  • Jari Lindfors
  • Trase Wencl

Big Nine scholar athletes:

  • Peter Jones
  • Justin Stein

The captains for the 2015-16 season:

  • Kade Friedrichs
  • Alec Holcomb
  • Sam Hylle

Players who will play on Elite League teams:

  • Noah Scheid
  • Kade Friedrichs
The players, managers, coaches, cheerleaders and their families were treated to a meal of Dusty's award-winning barbecue at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Owatonna.
Members of the 2014-15 OHS boys hockey team at the banquet
Members of the 2014-15 OHS boys hockey team at the banquet

More From KRFO-AM