Three New Minnesota Laws That Kicked In January 1st
The last year saw a bunch of new laws enacted, here are some of the biggest that went into effect at 12:01 AM Monday.
Some people'll be getting a raise because Minnesota's minimum wage gets adjusted for inflation. Big biz minimum wage goes up to $9.65 an hour, and smaller employers will start paying $7.87/hour.
This didn't mean much to me until I scatched by eye and needed a butt-ton of prescription eye drops, but after the first one, I paid for 'em myself.
Now, plans must cover those refills if the plan already covers eye drops.
Now you can buy a license plate to honor officers killed in the line of duty. It'll cost $10 plus a $25 initial gift to the Minnesota Law Enforcement Memorial Association, and then, every year after, a minimum $5 will be charged.