Defending state champions Peyton Robb and Brandon Moen lead a contingent of seven Owatonna wrestlers to qualify for the state tournament. OHS also competes as a team.

Robb, a junior, has won back-to-back state titles and takes a 33-0 record to Xcel Energy Center for the individual tournament, which begins Friday, March 3. Moen, a senior, will make his sixth consecutive appearance and has placed four times. Robb and Moen both went 3-0 with three straight pins in Saturday's Section 1AAA meet at Mayo Civic Center.

Owatonna sophomore Cade King earned his third straight trip to state. He placed third in the AA tournament with Waseca as an eighth-grader and did not place last year. Senior Griffin Thorn qualified for state in 2016 but did not place. Senior Goy Tut, eighth-grader Kaden Nelson and seventh-grader Landen Johnson will make their state tournament debuts.

Fans will learn the whereabouts of Westfield Township, as the first-year Blooming Prairie-Hayfield co-op will have five wrestlers at state. Junior Ethan Arett qualified for state as freshman but missed state last year. His Razorback teammates that have qualified include senior Trey Chatman, juniors Morgen Moreno and Mitchell Oswald, and freshman Colton Krell. View the full Section 2A results.

Medford freshman Willie Von Ruden qualified for state for a second straight year. He did not place last year.

Individual action for Class A wrestlers begins at 9AM on Friday, March 3. Class AAA wrestlers take to the mats at 1PM. View the full wrestling tournament schedule. KRFO AM 1390 will provide live coverage of each local wrestler.

Kenyon-Wanamingo has six wrestlers going to state individually. The Knights team competes in the Class A tournament Thursday. Kasson-Mantorville had 10 wrestlers qualify and Albert Lea sends six in Class AA. The Komets are the top seed for the AA tournament. Apple Valley sends 11 wrestlers to state in addition to their team, which seeks its 12th straight title. Owatonna's first-round team opponent, Hastings, has nine wrestlers in the individual tournament.

More From KRFO-AM