Filings for seats on township boards of supervisors in Rice County opened today, December 28, 2021 and run through Tuesday, January 11, 2022.

The clerk's seat is up in 12 of the county's 14 townships.  Bridgewater and Webster Townships have an appointed clerk.

One seat on each township board of supervisors will also be on the ballot, except in Walcott Township where one three-year supervisor seat will be up.

Qualifications for town board include:

  • Be elibible to vote in Minnesota
  • Not file for another office at the upcoming primary or general election
  • Be 21 years of age or more upon assuming office
  • Have maintained residence in your district for at least 30 days before the general election

Candidates must file with the township clerk.  Filing offices are required to be open from 1:00-5:00 p.m. on the last day of filing, Tuesday, January 11, 2022.

Filing offices will also be closed on Friday, December 31, 2021.

In addition to completing an affidavit for candidacy, candidates must pay a $2 filing fee.

Township elections will be held Tuesday, March 8, 2022.

Below is a listing of Rice County township clerks and contact information:

Bridgewater:  Frances Boehning, 507-645-1656, clerk@bridgewatertwp.org is email.

Cannon City:  Marilyn Caron, 507-384-1998, mcaroncc@gmail.com

Erin Township:  Sharon Kaisershot, 507-364-5537, skaisershot@frontiernet.net

Forest Township: Ashley Anderson, 507-213-7116, foresttwpclerk@gmail.com

Morristown Twp.: Dawn Neutzman, 507-456-8772, d.neutzman@gmail.com

Northfield Twp.  Diane Lyman, 507-663-1068, northfieldtwp@northfieldwfi.com

Richland Twp. Jay Haws, 507-330-0369, richland.ricecounty@gmail.com

Shieldsville Twp. Sue Ceplecha-Novak, 507-330-1485, scnovak@g.com

Walcott Twp. Benet Freund, 507-334-8655, bfreund12@hotmail.com

Warsaw Twp.  Michele Voegele, 507-210-0910, awarsawtwp@yahoo.com

Webster Twp. Roger VanVeldhuizen, 507-301-3093, webster.township@yahoo.com

Wells Twp. Jim Zahn, 507-838-0836, jpzahn46@gmail.com

Wheatland Twp. Jim Duban, 507-744-2742, jkduban@lonstel.com

Wheeling Twp. Rebecca Vergin, 507-334-0134, wheelingtownship@gmail.com 

Rice County Elections Director is Denise Anderson.  She can be reached at 507-332-6104.  Her email is danderson@co.rice.mn.us

This is an interesting read.

Beware of These 50 Jobs That Might Vanish in the Next 50 Years