The Owatonna High School girls' and boys' soccer and volleyball teams wrapped up their fall seasons recently with the announcement of Big Nine All-Conference honors and other team awards.

Owatonna girls' soccer played a tough schedule early but rallied to win nine of their final regular season games and a playoff game to finish 10-7-1. All-Conference players include Josie Sullivan, Jordan Whalen, Grace Wolfe and Sydney Kretlow with honorable mention players Saia Elstad and Asia Buryska.

Whalen earned the team's offensive MVP award with Emma Dahnert landing the defensive MVP honor. Award winners included Tatum Walkingstick (unsung hero), Katingtan Stanford (best varsity newcomer), Kretlow (most versatile player) and Elstad (coaches award).

Captains for 2019 will be Sullivan and Buryska.

The OHS boys' soccer team put together its second-best season ever at 13-4-1, scoring a team-record 53 goals. All-Conference players included Jared Fett, Zach Barrett and Sam Henson. Honorable mention players were Zach Williams and Alex Beaver. Barret and David Keller were Scholar-Athletes.

Fett was named the Most Valuable Player for the Huskies. Captains for 2019 will be Henson, Derek Huxford, Lane Versteeg and Kaden Nelson.

Owatonna volleyball had Alyvia Johnson named to the All-Conference Honorable Mention list. She also was named the team's Offensive MVP and led the squad in kills. The Defensive MVP was Haylee Mullenbach. The team MVP was Kaitlyn Madole. Ruth Livingston won the Spirit and Hustle Awards.

Statistical leaders included Mullenbach (digs), Bailey Manderfeld (ace serves), blocks (Madole) and Anna Vetsch (assists).




More From KRFO-AM