2001 Owatonna High School graduate Derek Johnson was a two-time state champion while wearing a Huskies' singlet, winning back-to-back titles in 1999 and 2000. Johnson is one of five new members of the OHS Athletic Hall of Fame. Induction ceremonies will be held Friday, September 13 at the high school in the afternoon and at the football field that night.

Johnson was part of four state tournament teams, highlighted by a state championship in 1998 and runner-up finishes in 1999 and 2001. He was a member of four consecutive Big Nine Conference titles as well, earning All-Conference honors each year.

In addition to the state individual titles, Johnson finished third as a senior and sixth as a freshman. His career win total of 168 matches ranks fifth all-time at Owatonna. His overall varsity record of 168-12, with its .933 winning percentage, is one of the best in school history. Eighty-three of his wins were by pin.

Johnson wrestled at Division I Wisconsin until being sidelined by injury in 2002.

Other inductees in the hall of fame class of 2019 include Tom Haigh from the class of '58, Nicki (Miller) Martineau of the class of '90, Amy (Kubat) Lageson from the class of '08 and former coach and teacher Jeanne Stursa.

The public is invited to a reception at the high school commons at 3 pm on Friday. Inductees will have a chance to share their feelings on the honor at that time. An introduction will also take place at the football game against New Prague later that day.

The Owatonna Athletic Hall of Fame committee recently announced that a new category will be added to the hall in 2020 that will recognize teams of distinction.



More From KRFO-AM