Owatonna High School wrestling had many reasons to celebrate during their recent banquet hosted by the Owatonna Wrestling Association. The Huskies had three state place-winners during the individual tournament. OHS was the section runner-up in the team competition and won the Big Nine title this winter.

Senior Cade King ends his prep career with most wins (232) in program history. He eclipsed Brandon Moen (228) during the section tournament after passing Peyton Robb (197) and Alex Meger (199) during the season. King is a four-time state place-winner and three-time finalist. He won the title in 2018 and was the state runner-up this year.

King, who will wrestle at Division I South Dakota State, earned the Huskies' Most Valuable Award by leading the squad with 295.5 teams points. He also led the team in victories with 49 and takedowns with 194. He set a school record for career takedowns.

On being a Jackrabbit, King spoke of the education side of his decision during National Signing Day earlier this winter, "I've always wanted to go into natural resources. I love nature, being outdoors. For the wrestling part, I think they're a young program right now. Their coach is really developing the wrestlers. They've had some upper weight success."

He also appreciates the way the coaches have stayed in touch with him, "They keep in contact with me throughout the year. I'll text them back and forth...They really care about me as a person, not just as an athlete to the team."

King added he's looking forward to the big jump of going to a Division I situation, "I like challenges. I think it will be a good challenge. I'm ready for it."

Landen Johnson finished sixth at the state tournament and topped the team with 24 pins. He reached 100 career wins this season.

Nick Staska was named the Most Improved Senior and placed fifth at the state tournament. Staska was among the 30-win wrestlers honored, along with Chase Dallman, Jacob Reinardy, Kaden Nelson and Ashton Macht (junior varsity).

Senior awards were presented to King, Staska, Kobie Kath, Riley Becker, Trevor Schroeder and Jaden Smith. The Hardest Worker honors went to Isaiah Noeldner and Rian Grunwald.

The OWA Service Award went to Tina King. Wrestling association Youth Service Award winners included Ethan Stockwell and Hudson Aase.

Coach Adam Woitalla was thrilled to recognize many All-Academic Team members: King, Staska, Jerez Autridge, Luke Effertz, Jackson Grunwald, Stockwell, Christian Nogle, Hunter Jensen, Noeldner, Abe Stockwell, Matthew Seykora, Aase, Macht, Nelson, Ben Schwartz, Rian Grunwald, Johnson, Cael Dowling, Jake Gronli, Kanin Hable, Korban Stricklin, Reinardy, Michael Bobo and Cael Robb.

The Big Nine Conference recently released the All-Conference list for wrestling. Four Huskies made the first-team list. They are Landen Johnson (138 pounds), Kaden Nelson (145), Cade King (182) and Nick Staska (195). Kanin Hable earned an At-Large designation with his 8-2 conference mark.

Isaiah Noeldner (7-1), Jacob Reinardy (7-2) and Ethan Stockwell (6-3) made the Honorable Mention list.


More From KRFO-AM