Football is the ultimate team game. That adage has long been a part of every coach's lexicon, rightly so. Yet every year for the last decade and a half an effort is made to name the top player in the state. The Mr. Football Award began in 2004.

Blooming Prairie will face one of the ten finalists for that honor when they take the field Friday, November 29 to face BOLD. Warriors' quarterback Jordan Sagedahl is the only Class A player named as a finalist. He has thrown for over 2,000 yards and 30 touchdowns while leading BOLD back to the Prep Bowl. BOLD (Bird Island-Olivia-Lake Lillian District) lost the title game last year 22-21 to Mahnomen.

Friday's Class A Prep Bowl game is a rematch of last year's semifinal game where BOLD topped Blooming Prairie 37-7. Is it fair to call this year's game a rematch? Sahedahl will play Division I baseball at South Dakota State.

Several other Mr. Football finalists are also playing for state champions with their team. Caledonia is seeking its fifth straight state AA title. Noah King is the quarterback and a safety for the Warriors. Caledonia faces Minneapolis North at 1 pm Friday, November 29, right after the Blooming Prairie vs BOLD clash. Caledonia beat Barnesville and Mr. Football Finalist Hunter Zenzen in the semifinals.

Mountain Lake Area's do-everything player Abraham Stoesz is up for the award. He is a receiver/defensive back/kicker/punter. MLA faces Hancock for the nine-man title Saturday, November 30 at 10 am.

Jalen Suggs with the SMB Wolfpack, who is likely to play basketball rather than football at the next level, is up for the award. He looks to lead his team back into the winner's circle against Rocori Friday at 4 pm in the Class AAA Prep Bowl game.

The other Mr. Football finalists are Jonathan Kieren (St. Anthony Village), Aidan Bouman (Buffalo), TK Marshall (Minneapolis Southwest), RaJa Nelson (Lakeville North), and Aaron Witt (Winona).

The award will be presented Sunday, December 8. Owatonna's Jason Williamson won the 2018 Mr. Football award.



More From KRFO-AM