The Owatonna School Board released the names of the five candidates to replace Pete Grant when he resigns from the superintendent's position in June 2017.

Each semifinalist is currently a superintendent, according to the news release on the Owatonna school district website. Bill Adams holds that position at the Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton school district. He has also worked in Belle Plaine, Renville County West, Sleepy Eye, Madelia, Mankato Loyola and Lake Crystal-Wellcome-Memorial. Adams has previously been an elementary principal and teacher among other positions.

Jeff Elstad works in Byron and has previous experience in Rochester, Owatonna, New Prague and Benson. He has been a principal and assistant principal previously.

Jeremiah Olson presently works in Henning/Underwood and has held positions including principal at multiple levels in districts in North and South Dakota.

James Wagner is the Kimball Superintendent. Prior positions include community education director, principal and teacher. He has worked in the Albert Lea, Monticello, Aitkin and St. Cloud districts.

Christine Weymouth is in Mauston, Wis., and has worked in several Wisconsin districts plus Edina and Red Wing. She has held posts including assistant superintendent, principal and director of special education.

Twenty-eight applications were completed for the position.

The Owatonna School Board based their selections on a process that included input from the community and school staff of desired qualities for the next superintendent. The semifinalists will be interviewed November 14-15. The field will be narrowed to no more than three finalists. Each of them will spend a full day in the Owatonna district meeting with staff groups and touring the city. The board hopes to select Grant's successor before the winter holidays, according to the news release.

More From KRFO-AM