Several local students have been named award winners of a variety of scholarships. In addition, incoming Owatonna High School senior Lane Versteeg was selected for the 2020 Semper Fidelis All-American Program Battles Won Academy. The prestigious honor usually comes with a trip to the nation's capital for a week of special activities. That portion of the program is canceled due to the pandemic.

A news release states, "Versteeg was selected not only for his athletic performance but for outstanding character, academic excellence, and community leadership that reflects the Marine Corps' values of honor, courage, and commitment." Versteeg choose Bob Waypa, his soccer coach, as his mentor for this year's social media and digital engagement that replaces the trip to Washington DC.

Recent scholarship awards include the Minn-Dak District Scholarship through the Kiwanis Club. Awards go to Asia Buryska, Charity Jackson, Camryn Miller, Shannon Smith, and Tatum Walkingstick. Recipients were selected based on academics and volunteer efforts. Each must choose a college within the region of Minnesota and the Dakota's.

Other students received Kiwanis scholarships based on academics, community service, and their involvement with the OHS Key Club, which is sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Owatonna. These students are Anna Vetsch, Ben Revier, Tessa Schirmer, Mackenzie Paulson, Jackson, and Miller.

The Owatonna Hospital Auxiliary awarded 18 scholarships totaling nearly $18,000 to students pursuing healthcare-related educations through the Donald Sanford Nursing Scholarship and the Owatonna Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship.

Awards went to Caitlyn Anderson, Michelle Benson, Karissa Buck, Natily Buck, Molly Busho, Jamie Davison, Timon Higgins, Sydney Langeslag, Courtney Liming, Carter McCauley, Meagn Nowariak, Gretchen Ramaker, Dawson Ringhofer, Logan Rignhofer, Margaret Schlicker, Britt Schultz, Evan Steiger, and Grace Valen.


WOW: Stay the Night in a Beautiful Castle in Minnesota



More From KRFO-AM