Medford senior and all-time leading scoring Emma Kniefel was recently named as the Gopher Conference Player of the Year. Kniefel set the Tigers' scoring mark, for boys and girls, this past winter. She was a key member of an historic core of players that won their second straight conference championship in 2019-2020.

Tigers senior Kiley Nihart made the All Conference First Team. Senior Izzy Reuvers was named to the Second Team. Junior Katie Dylla earned Gopher Conference honorable mention. Medford senior Aloriah Wiese was the Tigers Sportsmanship recipient.

Longtime Tigers coach Mark Kubat often commented on how well the senior class got along and worked together, never showing selfishness. Kniefel, Nihart, and Reuvers are all among the top scorers in program history. Medford completed an unbeaten regular season in 2018-2019 and won a share of the conference title in 2019-2020 with Waterville-Elysian-Morristown.

Medford sports
Roy Koenig/Townsquare Media

The three will each play a different sport in college. Kniefel committed to Gustavus to play basketball. Reuvers will also attend Gustavus and play softball. Nihart will play volleyball at Rochester Community and Technical College.

Kniefel surpassed 2,000 career points late in the season. She became the school's all-time leading scorer back in December with previous record-holder Chuck Wobbrock watching from the stands.

Gopher Conference girls basketball honors, 2019-2020
Player of the Year: Emma Kniefel, Medford
All Conference, First Team

  • Kiley Nihart, Medford
  • Megan Oswald, Blooming Prairie
  • Sophie Stork, NRHEG
  • Ally Bruegger, Maple River
  • Toryn Richards, WEM

All Conference, Second Team

  • Izzy Reuvers, Medford
  • Bobbie Bruns, Blooming Prairie
  • Sidney Schultz, NRHEG
  • Ellie Ready, WEM
  • Brielle Bartelt, WEM

Honorable Mention

  • Katie Dylla, Medford
  • Julia Worke, Blooming Prairie
  • Cela Carney, Hayfield
  • Isabella Nelson, Maple River
  • Mercedes Huerta, Bethlehem Academy

Sportsmanship Recipients

  • Aloraih Wiese, Medford
  • Jayna Domeier, NRHEG
  • Maren Forystek, Blooming Prairie
  • Grace Adhley, Bethlehem Academy
  • Lila Gronseth, Hayfield
  • Abby Bruegger, Maple River
  • Taige Suhr, United South Central
  • Trista Herig, WEM



More From KRFO-AM