A local bus operator, David Dienst, of Faribault Transportation Co, Inc. received the 2018 Transportation Specialist Award from The Minnesota School Bus Operators Association last month during the annual summer conference.

The drivers were nominated by their supervisors as persons who exemplify the best of the best in school transportation. The applications were judged by the Minnesota State Patrol's Office of Pupil Transportation Safety on criteria such as years of service, dedication to safety, community service achievements, communication with school staff, and letters of recommendation from parents, co-workers, students and school staff.

Other people who received the award during the conference's 25th annual award ceremony held in Grand Rapids, Minnesota:

  • Karen Fashant, M & M Bus Service, Annandale MN
  • Bruce Long, Palmer Bus Service, Waseca, MN
  • Jennifer Morrow, Southwest Coaches, Marshall MN
  • Daniel Wiehle, Minneapolis & Suburban Company Inc., Minneapolis

In addition to the hardware, a $1,000 check was awarded in each driver’s name to go toward a scholarship fund for deserving youth in the school district they serve.

The MSBOA was created in 1948 to focus efforts on school bus safety for its passengers in the state of Minnesota. More information on the organization is available at www.msboa.com.

More From KRFO-AM