Huskies' senior Jared Fett is Owatonna's lone entry on the Big Nine All-Conference Team, earning honorable mention status. Fett missed part of the season due to a broken wrist, but made it back into the lineup to be one of the team leaders in scoring.

Fett joined fellow seniors Jack Hanson, Braydn Larson and Steven Eckard on the court for their final high school game during the Section 1AAAA quarterfinal loss at Lakeville North March 6.

Coach Josh Williams commented on the seniors a day after the loss, "We'll start with Jack Hanson, simply because I thought he had his best game of the season. Jack stepped up in a difficult role against one of the best teams in the state and really carried us there in the first half...He had a good season overall and was one of our leading scorers...I really thought he ended on a positive note."

"Braydn Larson had a good year for us...Tough season as a senior, didn't get a whole lot of minutes. Love the kid as a person. Came to practice everyday. He worked hard...I was very proud of Braydn and how he was able to handle that and contribute to our team."

"Steven Eckard, one of our senior captains, was also one of our leading scorers...Steven had a real good senior season for us." Williams said he plans to play college basketball at Bethel University, "I know he's really excited about that. It will be fun to have another player in the MIAC."

"Jared (Fett) had a tumultuous year, starting four games, going out for a month-and-a-half with a broken wrist, coming back, finishing the year strong, had a really game up at Lakeville North...Really got in the flow again in mid-February."

Hear the full commentary from Williams about the four OHS seniors on the March 16 edition of the KRFO Coaches Show at 9 am. Owatonna finished the season 7-20, 6-16 in the conference.

All Big Nine Conference (honorable mention in parentheses)
Albert Lea: Dylan Scherff
Austin: Agwa Nywesh, Medi Obang, Ngor Deng (Dongrin Deng)
Century: Jack Fisher (Stephen Olander, Gabe Hanson)
Mankato East: Jax Madson, Joich Gong, Jordan Merseth (Pal Kueth, Ryan Kuechle)
Mankato West: (Mehki Collins)
Faribault: Joe Palmer
Owatonna: (Jared Fett)
John Marshall: Matthew Hurt, Simon Werven, Lincoln Meister
Mayo: Mason Madsen, Gabe Madsen (Calvin Dixon)
Northfield: Mason Zick, Mitchell Stanchina (Blake Christensen)
Red Wing: Zach Cota
Winona: Jake Reeck, Brad Winter (Terrell Hall)
Coach of the Year: Joe Madson, Mankato East

Mankato East and Austin shared the Big Nine title.


More From KRFO-AM