The Owatonna High School Activities Office announce the top three finalists for senior and junior, male and female, athlete of the year. Those 12 will be recognized on Wednesday, May 25 at 5 pm at a ceremony at the high school. Other awards will include the 110% honor, O-Club members, and the Minnesota State High School League's Triple 'A' and ExCel recipients.

In an email, Owatonna Activities Director Marc Achterkirch states, "Athletes were nominated by one or more of their coaches and voted upon by the entire OHS head coaching staff. This is an incredible honor for our student-athletes. Their hard work, dedication, and leadership abilities have elevated them to be some of the very best athletes to participate at Owatonna High School."

Senior Female Athlete of the Year Finalists

  • Hillary Haarstad
  • Janessa Moore
  • Ava Wolfe

Senior Male Athlete of the Year Finalists

  • Grant Achterkirch
  • Landen Johnson
  • Preston Meier

Junior Female Athlete of the Year Finalists

  • Annika Moran
  • Ezra Oien
  • Abby Vetsch

Junior Male Athlete of the Year Finalists

  • Blake Burmeister
  • Justin Gleason
  • Trever Schirmer

Owatonna student-athletes have done extremely well in activities and fine arts this season in addition to athletic success. The Huskies were well represented at state speech, state mock trial, and DECA.

Faribault-Owatonna Area Townsquare Townie Awards 2022

Townsquare Faribault-Owatonna 2022 Townie Awards highlight the most unique local businesses, people, places, and things around the Faribault and Owatonna Area. 

More From KRFO-AM