The Northwoods League has announced that a Minnesota-Iowa "Pod" of the Collegiate Summer League will begin July 1st.

Continuing efforts on the part of our Affiliates in Minnesota and Iowa to craft plans for safe operation in their respective locations in consultation with their state and local officials, along with the steps by those officials to open up their communities for larger gatherings, has made it possible to start another ‘pod’ in the Northwoods League footprint on July first. - Gary Hoover, NWL President and Commissioner


The 5 team "pod" will consist of the Mankato Moon Dogs, Rochester Honkers, St. Cloud Rox, Willmar Stingers and the Waterloo Bucks. The abbreviated season will run July 1st through August 20th. The team with the highest win percentage will be declared the Minnesota-Iowa Pod champion. This will be the forth "pod" created in the NWL this season as a Michigan, North Dakota, and Wisconsin-Illinois "pod" has also been announced by the league. The North Dakota "pod" has been in action since June 15th.

For local teams, the Mankato Moon Dogs will start their season on July 1st hosting the Waterloo Bucks and the Rochester Honkers will start their season on the road July 2nd at St. Cloud.

This regional pod will bring the special brand of Northwoods League baseball back to those communities, but in a way that is consistent with everyone’s goal of doing so in a safe manner.


Founded in 1993, the Northwoods League is one of the premier Collegiate Summer Baseball Leagues in the Nation. Alumni of the League include, Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals), Ben Zobrist (Chicago Cubs), Curtis Granderson (Miami Marlins) and many more! For more info about the NWL, you can click here!

KRFO-AM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

MORE TO EXPLORE: Relive Great Twins Games of the Past

Wake up with Jarred Becker every weekday morning from 6a-10a on AM 1390 KRFO
Connect with me on Social Media!
Twitter - @Jarred_Becker
Facebook - Jarred Becker


More From KRFO-AM