During the first week of election filings incumbent State legislators John Jasinski in the Senate and Brian Daniels in the House did not file but challengers did.  For the District 24 State Senate seat Roger Steinkamp of Faribault filed as a DFL candidate for the office currently held by GOP member Jasinski.

In House District 24B Ashley-Martinez Perez of Faribault is running as a DFL candidate for the seat held currently by GOP Representative Daniels.

Both incumbent state legislators told KDHL during the caucuses they were planning to attempt to retain their seats.

Faribault City Council members Royal Ross and Jonathon Wood filed for election to their seats.  Wood had been appointed and Ross is running for re-election.  Elizabeth Cap is the other Faribault City Council member up for election.

All the Rice County Commissioners up for re-election filed.  District 1 Jake Gillen of rural Faribault does have a challenger.  Bill McDonald of rural Faribault and Joe Adamek of rural Faribault did file the necessary papers to run for the seat.  Gillen has held the seat since 2005.

District 2 Commissioner Galen Malecha of Northfield filed for another term.  He has been in office since 2007.  District 5 Commissioner Jeff Docken of rural Northfield also hopes to retain the seat he has held since 2009.

Rice County Commissioner District 1 includes the townships of Bridgewater, Cannon City, Northfield, Richland, Walcott and Wheeling.  The portion of Dennison in Rice County.  The cities of Dundas and Nerstrand and Northfield Ward 2 Precinct 1, Northfield Ward 4 Precinct 2.

Rice County Commissioner District 2 is Northfield Ward 1 Precinct 1, Northfield Ward 1 Precinct 2, Northfield Ward 3, Precinct 1 and Northfield Ward 4 Precinct 1.

Rice County Commissioner District 5 is comprised of Erin, Forest, Morristown townships, Warsaw, Webster, Wheatland, Shieldsville townships and the cities of Lonsdale and Morristown.

Goodhue County Commissioner District 3 had three filings this week.  Phillip Parrish of rural Kenyon, Todd Greseth of Wanamingo and Rod Steele of Pine Island.

Goodhue County Commissioner District 1 filing by Linda Flanders of Red Wing and County Commissioner District 5 had a couple of filers from Red Wing.  Paul Drotos and Edward Moritz.

Filings conclude the end of next week.


NEXT UP: 10 Famous People from Minnesota


More From KRFO-AM