The Faribault Falcons have earned the new number one ranking after starting the week with a win over previous number one and defending State Champion Winona Monday.  Then they beat the #10 rated Northfield Raiders.  Faribault has only suffered one loss this season.  A 2-1 eight inning dome game with the #6 ranked team in Class 4A New Prague.  The Falcons remain unbeaten in the Big Nine and participate in a tournament Friday at Caswell Park in North Mankato that features all the teams in their section.

Section 2AAA is loaded.  In addition to #1 Faribault there is #3 Mankato West, #4 Waconia, #7 Mankato East. New Ulm received votes.  Also in the section are Marshall, Hutchinson and Worthington.  In other Class 3A rankings Winona is now #5 and Northfield dropped to receiving votes.

Rochester Lourdes defeated Zumbrota-Mazeppa this week but the two time defending State Champion Cougars are still #2 in Class 2A  and the Eagles are #4.  Chatfield is in the same section with those two and is ranked #6.

In Class A Randolph is #10, Wabasha-Kellogg and Cleveland received votes.  I would certainly place Waterville-Elysian-Morristown somewhere in there.

In Class 4A Prior Lake is #1. New Prague #6, Eastview #7, defending State Champion Farmington #9.  Rosemount, Burnsville and Eagan received votes.

Complete polls are below:

  1. Faribault
  2. North Branch
  3. Mankato West
  4. Waconia
  5. Winona
  6. Hill-Murray
  7. Mankato East
  8. Rocori
  9. Chisago Lakes
  10. Delano

Others receiving votes:  Northfield, Hermantown, Totino-Grace, Academy of Holy Angels, Visitation, Benilde-St. Margaret's School, New Ulm, Cloquet, Detroit Lakes.

Class 4A

  1. Prior Lake
  2. Buffalo
  3. Forest Lake
  4. Park
  5. Chanhassen
  6. New Prague
  7. Eastview
  8. Maple Grove
  9. Farmington
  10. Coon Rapids

Others receiving votes:  North, Minnetonka, Elk River, Anoka, Rogers, Stillwater Area, Rosemount, Burnsville, Eagan, Centennial, Champlin Park, Bloomington Jefferson

Class 1A

  1. New York Mills
  2. Sleepy Eye Saint Mary's
  3. NCE/UH Titans
  4. Kimball Area
  5. New Ulm Cathedral
  6. Pine River-Backus
  7. Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg
  8. Badger/Green Bush-Middle River
  9. Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian
  10. Randolph

Others receiving votes:  Wabasha-Kellogg, Cherry, Carlton, West Central Area, Cleveland, Brandon-Evansville

Class 2A

  1. Maple Lake
  2. Zumbrota-Mazeppa
  3. Pipestone Area
  4. Rochester Lourdes
  5. Park Rapids Area
  6. Chatfield
  7. St. Peter
  8. Esko
  9. Thief River Falls
  10. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton

Others receiving votes:  Annandale, Rockford, Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta, Jordan, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, St. Agnes

Falcon Softball Home Diamond 4 Alexander Park North Faribault. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Falcon Softball Home Diamond 4 Alexander Park North Faribault. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld

More From KRFO-AM